Minutes

The meeting was held via: Zoom Franklin County Budget Committee Meeting

April 10, 2024

PRESENT: Tiffany Maiuri, Gary McGrane, John Archer (left meeting at 6:05 pm), Rupert Pratt, Dennis O'Neil, Morgan Dunham, Dean Collins and Janet White

AUDIENCE: Commissioner Carlton, Commissioner Brann, Mt. Blue T.V., Corie Willard (Zoom), Rene Whitley (Zoom), Craig Zurhorst, Tara Marble, James Trundy, Mary Redman-Luce, Ryan Close, Tom Skofield, Charlie Woodworth, Fen Fowler, Donna Perry, Sarah Bickford, Amanda Simoneau, Sarah Caton, Jim Desjardins, Nick Palmer, John Donald, Susan Black, Heidi Jordan, Steve Lowell, David St. Laurent, David Rackliffe, Brad Timberlake, Nathan Hiltz, Doug Hiltz, Amy Bernard, Tiffany Baker, Jamie Sullivan and Brenda Bitle.

The meeting was called to order by Tiffany Maiuri at 5:00 p.m.

Pledge of Allegiance

Opening Comments from Chairperson -

Acceptance of Meeting Minutes of April 3, 2024 – Motion to Accept April 3, 2024 Budget Committee Meeting Minutes: John Archer/Dean Collins, Dennis O'Neil requested an amendment to revise Minutes, Dennis O'Neil withdrew request to amend Minutes (8/1) Dennis O'Neil Opposed

Initial Vote on Department Budgets, County Wide Services and Other Committee Proposed Considerations:

- 1. EMA Motion to approve FY2025 budget of \$256,236: Janet White/John Archer (No Vote), Motion to approve FY2025 budget for \$256,237 as amended Janet White/John Archer (8/0), Motion to amend FY2025 budget for \$257,824 Dennis O'Neil/Gary McGrane (7/1) John Archer opposed.
- **2. District Attorney** Motion to approve FY2025 budget of \$378,632: Morgan Dunham/Gary McGrane (7/1) John Archer opposed
- **3. Superior Court -** Motion to approve FY2025 budget of \$3,000: Dean Collins/Morgan Dunham (8/0) Unanimous

- **4.** Commissioners Motion to approve FY2025 budget of \$381,764: Dennis O'Neil/Morgan Dunham (6/2) Tiffany Maiuri and John Archer opposed
- **5. Treasurer** Motion to approve FY2025 budget of **\$243,084**: Gary McGrane/Rupert Pratt (7/1) John Archer opposed
- **6. Technical Services** Motion to approve FY2025 budget of \$459,578: Gary McGrane/Morgan Dunham (8/0)
- **7. Courthouse -** Motion to approve FY2025 budget of **\$285,646**: Rupert Pratt/Morgan Dunham (8/0)
- **8. Jail** Motion to approve FY2025 budget for \$3,248,399 Gary McGrane/Janet White (No Vote), Motion to approve FY2025 budget for \$3,168,575 as amended Dean Collins/Morgan Dunham (6/1) Rupert Pratt opposed, Motion to reconsider approved FY2025 budget of \$3,168,575: Morgan Dunham/Gary McGrane (7/0), Motion to amend FY2025 budget to **\$3,166,309**: Gary McGrane/Dean Collins (7/0)
- **9. Registry of Deeds** Motion to approve FY2025 budget for **\$269,731**: Dean Collins/Rupert Pratt (7/0)
- **10.Registry of Probate -** Motion to approve FY2025 budget for **\$283,636**: Gary McGrane/Dean Collins (7/0)
- **11. Sheriff's Department -** Motion to approve FY2025 budget for **\$2,864,610**: Gary McGrane/Dean Collins (7/0)
- **12. Communications** Motion to approve FY2025 budget for \$1,361,755: Dean Collins/Morgan Dunhan (7/0)
- **13.** County Wide Motion to approve FY2025 budget for \$635,518: Dean Collins/Rupert Pratt (7/0)
 - **A. Franklin County Extension Service** Motion to approve funding for FY2025 in the amount of **\$64,759**: Morgon Dunham/Gary McGrane (7/0)
 - **B. Franklin County Soil & Water** Motion to approve funding for FY2025 in the amount of \$35,000 Morgan Dunham/Tiffany Maiuri (No Vote), Motion to approve funding for FY2025 in the amount of \$24,000 as amended Rupert Pratt, Motion to approve funding in the amount of \$29,000: Dean Collins/Dennis O'Neil (4/3) Janet White, Rupert Pratt and Morgan Dunham opposed
 - C. Children's Task Force Motion to approve funding for FY2025 in the amount of \$12,500: Dean Collins/Morgan Dunham (7/0)
 - **D. Franklin County Adult Basic Education -** Motion to approve funding for FY2025 in the amount of \$30,000 Gary McGrane (No Vote), Motion to approve funding in the amount of \$12,750 as amended: Dean Collins/Gary McGrane (No Vote), Motion to

- approve funding in the amount of \$20,000 as amended: Dennis O'Neil/Morgan Dunham (7/0)
- **E. Western Maine Community Action** Motion to approve funding for FY2025 in the amount of **\$55,850**: Morgan Dunham/Gary McGrane (7/0)
- **F. Senior Plus -** Motion to approve funding for FY2025 in the amount of \$40,000: Dean Collins/Gary McGrane (7/0)
- **G. SAPARS** Motion to approve funding for FY2025 in the amount of **\$20,000**: Gary McGrane/Dean Collins (7/0)
- **H. Androscoggin Homecare & Hospice -** Motion to approve funding for FY2025 in the amount of **\$30,000**: Gary McGrane/Janet White (7/0)
- **I. Franklin County Development Corporation -** Motion to approve funding for FY2025 in the amount of **\$1.00**: Dean Collins/Morgan Dunham (6/1) Tiffany Maiuri opposed
- **J. Franklin County Fireman's Association** Motion to approve funding for FY2025 in the amount of \$3,700. Janet White/Gary McGrane (7/0)
- **K. Western Maine Transportation -** Motion to approve funding for FY2025 in the amount of \$39,750: Dennis O'Neil/Dean Collins (6/1) Rupert Pratt Opposed
- **L. Debt Service Principal** Motion to approve funding for FY2025 in the amount of **\$43,200**: Tiffany Maiuri/Morgan Dunham (7/0)
- **M. Debt Service Interest** Motion to approve funding for FY2025 in the amount of **\$6,808**: Rupert Pratt/Janet White (7/0)
- **14. Overall Budget** Motion to approve FY2025 budget for \$7,424,778: Gary McGrane/Morgan Dunham (7/0)

Confirmation of Public Hearing – Motion to hold Public Hearing on April 25, 2024 at 5:30 pm. Gary McGrane/Morgan Dunham (7/0)

Adjournment - Motion to adjourn meeting at 7:11 p.m. Morgan Dunham/Rupert Pratt (7/0)

A recording is available for this meeting.